So, just like many of you, I’m sure, I came into this class not really knowing what to expect. I never really ever learned straight forwardly what the definition of feminism was, or took a class anything like this one. Until now, my knowledge of feminism was simply what I saw on twitter, and other social media. I do follow some proud feminists on twitter who often tweeted their points of views on the topic, but (embarrassingly) I never took the time to research what they were commenting on or put in the effort to understand their points of view past reading their tweets. I must admit that when I first started reading the assigned documents, I started off as being a little bit uninterested, and I thought that the information being provided in them was somewhat hard to grasp. Soon, my opinion started to slowly change as I kept reading, and I became exponentially more interested in the topic.

The first source that really opened my eyes to the topic was this video titled “Why am I a Feminist”, made by Laci Green. In this video, she points out many issues that are still relevant today as reasons to why she is a feminist. For example, she points out that there is still a double standard when it comes to girls and boys who have a lot of sex, that women who are raped continue to be asked what they were wearing during the time of the event, and that there is a lot of pressure on girls to value their appearance above everything else. After watching this video, I realized that I agreed and identified with all of her reasons for being a feminist. This got me curious to continue reading the rest of the documents provided in the Unit, in order to learn more about the definition of feminism and what it meant to be a feminist, and at the same time, learn more about myself as well.

One of the articles that caught my attention was the one titled “I’m all for equal rights but don’t call me a feminist” by Olson et al. I found this study to be very interesting, because it showed how real life opinions that college students had on the topic of feminism. It also provided the broad categories of different ways that they saw or identified with feminism, after analyzing all of their answers to the questions that they were asked. The categories were the following: embracing, denouncing, reframing, or resisting. This article helped me realize and understand my point of view even further, and label it as “embracing,” because although I recently realized that my views were considered feminist, I do believe that they are embracing of the feminist values.

Another article that I liked very much was a blog post from one of the blog sources. The blog post was titled “Why Men Need Feminism Too (Really, You Do!)”, from the website “Everyday Feminism.” This article, as you can guess from the title, explained why men actually need feminism, contrary to popular belief. I enjoyed reading the blog post and learning how feminism really does help men as well, and not only women. The author brought out very clear points and made it easy to relate to and grasp the concept. This occurred especially when she provided a list of questions for men to answer, and if they answered “yes” to those questions, then it was clear that they too, needed feminism. i liked this because I was able to read through the questions and try to answer them from my male friends’ point of view and of course had the same outcome; that my male friends would also say “yes” to many, if not all, of those questions, and that indeed they needed feminism.

After such an interesting week, I can not wait for everything else that is to come, and I look forward to continuing to learn about the topic and about myself in the process.

Green, Laci. “WHY I’M A…FEMINIST *gasp*.” YouTube. YouTube, 23 Apr. 2014. Web. 26 May 2016.

Kreitler, Katy. “Why Men Need Feminism Too (Really, You Do!).” Web log post.Everyday Feminism. N.p., 20 Aug. 2012. Web. 26 May 2016.

Olson, Loreen N., Tina A. Coffelt, Eileen Berlin Ray, Jill Rudd, Renée Botta, George Ray, and Jenifer E. Kopfam. “I’m All for Equal Rights, but Don’t Call Me a Feminist”: Identity Dilemmas in Young Adults’ Discursive Representation of Being a Feminist.” Women’s Studies in Communication 31.1 (2008): 104-32. Print.

