Dear Larysa Harness, A.K.A. @AceMasterShady,

On April 5th of this year you tweeted a message with the hashtag #IDontNeedFeminism, this message had an attached photo of a woman with a list. In response to your tweet I would like to offer an opposing view to the issue that you have addressed in your tweet.

Screen Shot 2016-05-26 at 8.35.04 PM

While scrolling through twitter looking at tweets using the Hashtag #IDontNeedFeminism I came across your tweet in particular and it interested me. Your tweet included the text “#IDontNeedFeminism” and an attached photo of a person, presumably you, holding up a piece of paper with writing on it that said the following.

 

“I don’t need feminism because:

– I am NOT a victim

– I do NOT hate men

– I prefer self respect over self depreciation

– I prefer facts over propaganda and fear mongering

And lastly…

– I’m not some idiot screaming harpie that bitches about imaginary issues such as “page gap”, “patriarchy” and “rape culture”.”

 

While I must applaud you for your use of the image, rather than just typing the message out, to avoid the nasty 140 character issue, I am not sure that the content of your tweet is sound.

I’m not entirely sure that you understand the definition of Feminism. According to Bell Hook’s Book Feminism is for Everybody, “Feminism is a movement to end sexism, sexist exploitation, and oppression”. I like this definition because, though Feminism has a reputation for being a moment for women, women aren’t even mentioned in it. The focus of Feminism and the Feminist movement is not on women only, its about men too. Men, just like women, have thing that they dislike about society’s expectation of them. This is why ending “sexism, sexist exploitation, and oppression” benefits both sexes.

In regard to your tweet, and your reasons for thinking that you don’t need Feminism; “I am NOT a victim”. You personally may not see your self as a “victim” but chances are that you have missed an opportunity to a man, or been told something, or expected of something because of your sex at one point in your life. while that may not bother you it is sexism, so even if you don’t feel victimized you are a “victim” of sexism.

In regards to “I do NOT hate men”. Feminists do not hate men. There may certain individual feminists who hate certain individual men, but Feminists as a group do not hate men as a group. As earlier stated, “Feminism is a movement to end sexism”, not to end men, or to help women dominate over men. There are plenty of men who proclaim themselves as Feminists, does that mean that they as a man hate men, no it means that they believe in the equality of the sexes.

In regards to “I prefer self respect over self depreciation.” I would like to inquire how being a Feminist is self depreciating? If women are seen a less than men, and Feminism is about making women and men equal, then how is bringing the way that women are viewed, up to way that men are viewed, not self respect in the case of women?

In regards to “I prefer facts over propaganda and fear mongering”. I would like to know what things that you have heard about Feminism that aren’t rooted in fact that you can call “propaganda and fear mongering”.

And lastly in regards to I’m not some idiot screaming harpie that bitches about imaginary issues such as “page gap”, “patriarchy” and “rape culture”. Many if not most of the Feminist Movement include very well educated people, so saying that you don’t need Feminism because you are not an idiot makes no sense. It would be news to me if all Feminists were actual “Harpies”, since a “Harpie” is a Greek and Roman mythological female monster in the form of a bird with a human face. If  “Pay Gap”, “Patriarchy” and “Rape Culture” are made up then why does a woman get paid less than a man for the same job?, why are their still rules that force women to wear high heels to work?, and why are the victims of rape still made to feel guilty for getting raped?(bbc)

 

 

Citation: http://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-36265545

