blog-2013-10-17-illustration-raised-hands-300x300

After reading different works of feminist and non-feminists authors and bloggers,  I was intrigued by some of what I read in a few of the readings. Three readings caught my attention: Lesbian Nation by Ariel Levy, Declaration of Sentiments and Resolutions from the Woman’s Rights Convention, and Why Men Need Feminism by Katy Kreitler. These particular readings each brought up a point of view or contained information that I did not know or maybe I just never thought about it in that way.

In Lesbian Nation by Ariel Levy, referring to Lesbian separatists,  Lillian Faderman, the author of six books on lesbian history, said “Different groups  had different definitions of separatism, ranging from a refusal to associate with men to a refusal to associate with straight women to a refusal to associate with gay women who weren’t separatists.”. As I am well aware that lesbians like women and only women, however I did not know that some Lesbians actually would refuse to associate with straight women as well as men too.Before reading that blog I did not know much about Lesbian or Lesbian Nation or even that there was such a thing.

download

I also read the Declaration of sentiments and resolutions from the Woman’s Rights Convention. Here a list of injuries and tyranny are placed among a woman by man. The one that jarred me the most was as follows “He has made her, morally, an irresponsible being, as she can commit many crimes with impunity, provided they be done in the presence of her husband. In the covenant of marriage, she is compelled to promise obedience to her husband, he becoming, to all intents and purposes, her master—the law giving him power to deprive her of her liberty, and to administer chastisement.” I wasn’t aware that at marriage the woman was compelled to promise obedience to her husband nor did I know that they were legally able to administer chastisement. Living in modern times it seems insane to have that as a law.

Lastly I read Why Men Need Feminism by Katy Kreitler where I wasn’t aware of the ways men are affected by feminism. Such ways as in being insecure because your body wasn’t big enough, strong enough, or slim enough, being pressured to be tough, aggressive and competitive beyond your comfort zone, and being helpless when dealing with feelings of sadness, hurt, and shame because you were taught to believe that emotions show weakness. I never had thought about men being affected in these types of ways which are very true.

