Why are women so afraid of associating themselves with women’s rights and the term “feminist” itself? Actress and well-known celebrity Sophia Bush proves there is no reason to shy away from feminism in an interview with the Huffington Post. From playing a strong, independent fashion designer in the popular TV show One Tree Hill, to traveling the world as an activist for education opportunities for young girls in real life, Sophia Bush shows the world what it is to be a feminist.

I strongly believe that every girl and woman should watch this interview and let the words of Sophia Bush really sink in. This isn’t an interview where you feel like you have to feel the way she feels, this is an interview where her ideas are so eloquently stated that you feel like no one could disagree. She breaks through the stereotype of an actress losing their sense of self in order to shape into whatever role they’re assigned next. She comes “outside the lane” of being an actress to be an activist for what she believes in, and it is absolutely inspiring.

Ever since I found this interview circulating through Facebook, Bush has become one of my role models and has in some ways changed the way I live. She encourages women to stand up for what they believe in and not fit the mold of other’s expectations. When asked about what she believes feminism is, she does not shy away from the word “feminist” as if it’s a dirty word. She instead fully embraces it and says, “I’m a woman. I would like to be judged on the quality of my work, I would like to be compensated fairly for my work, I would like to have just as much access to health care as any man”, claiming that for these reasons she is a feminist. As she says, feminism is not complicated. It does not mean you hate men, it just means you’d like women to have an equal opportunity with equal rights. I hope that this interview can instill the same fire within you that it has instilled in me, so this video can go viral and inspire people around the world.

Source: H. (2016, March 08). Sophia Bush Interview 2016 International Women’s Day | HuffPost. Retrieved June 01, 2016, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MDPgo8IZbHc

