Macklemore, a well-known artist in the music industry begins his song Same Love with;

“When I was in the third grade I thought that I was gay,
‘Cause I could draw, my uncle was, and I kept my room straight.
I told my mom, tears rushing down my face
She’s like “Ben you’ve loved girls since before pre-k, trippin’.”
Yeah, I guess she had a point, didn’t she?
Bunch of stereotypes all in my head.
I remember doing the math like, “Yeah, I’m good at little league.”
A preconceived idea of what it all meant
For those that liked the same sex
Had the characteristics” 

This song is a great depiction of how children may feel when society tells them what is to be expected of them even at a young age. They start to question themselves if what they are interested in or good at is different than what society shows or says. These stereotypes and gender roles are not only an issue for older individuals but effect us from the moment we are born. In my developmental psychology class we talked about how parents tend to play a huge role in the activities their children get involved in down to making choices like the color of their room.

 

Because it is so embedded into our culture and society it is hard for me to image a world where there are no gender roles and where everything would be neutral.

