May 30, 2016
Today I ended up going to the movies with my family to see the new movie “Alice Through the Looking Glass.” It was a good movie, but what really stuck out to me was Alice’s occupation in the film (don’t worry, no major spoilers here). The movie is set in the 1800s, and surprisingly we see that Alice is the captain of an expedition ship. Many people think that since she is a woman she is not allowed to be a captain, a common thought from earlier times that women were not qualified to hold positions of authority or do dangerous jobs. In today’s society we have started to accept the fact that women can do the same job a man can, but we are not fully there yet (I’m looking at you, wage gap).

May 31, 2016
Today I ran to the grocery story to pick up a few things to help my family make dinner. While there I saw a mother with a young boy who I would say was about five-years old. While in the dairy ailse, the young boy picked out a pack of yogurt with Elsa from Frozen on it saying he wanted this one. His mother put that yogurt back, picked up on that had the racecar Lighning McQueen from the movie Cars on it, and said “No honey, you can’t have that yogurt, get this one since it is for boys.” I find it interesting that the yogurt–which was from the same brand and was almost the exact same flavor–was designed specifically for boys and girls to purchase different things.

June 1, 2016
This evening I went out to dinner with some of my friends. Towards the end of our meal I noticed a female server was being extra flirty with a table of younger guys. Since I work at a restaurant I know that people want to make good tips off of tables, but I don’t understand why our society would expect women to need to be flirtatious and “sexy” to make a tip. Shouldn’t a good work ethic and service be enough?

June 2, 2016
Today I noticed something that put a smile on my face. Today, society has made us expect that women should be doing the cooking and cleaning in the house, not a man. It is 2016 people, put the misogynist thinking away! I came home from work this evening to see my dad was doing the laundry like he usually does. It wasn’t until now that I realized that I rarely see my mother doing laundry or cleaning around the house and that it is mostly my father who does it. This makes me happy in that my father feels like no “less of a man” just because he does more housework than my mom.

June 3, 2016
Last night I ended up going out with a couple of friends to a bar for a drink. While there, a random guy asked one of my female friends if he could buy her a drink. When she said “Sure, could you get me another beer?” the look on his face was almost pure confusion. He asked “Wouldn’t you want something more girly?” Since when do we feel the need to have specific drinks for genders?

Doing a gender journal this week taught me many things about how we act as a society. While we are making progress towards gender equality, we still have a lot more work to do.

