What stood out to me the most this week in the readings and while working on assignments was the notion that gender stereotypes become so much a part of our daily lives that we act subconsciously without realizing when or why. This was well stated in the reading, “Gender as a Social Structure” on page 432. The author points out that we need to move beyond the reasoning that our actions are OK based on what is deemed normal or routine. I’ve taken a step back this week to look at just this, why I choose the actions I do and I encourage others to as well.

Another section in a reading that caught my eye was in the article “Doing Gender” on page 129 where Zimmerman shines a light on the fact that roles are often already gender oriented and when broken a qualifier is commonly used. For example, “male nurse”. When using these qualifiers, it is us giving into societal norms by putting emphasis on the fact that the role is being broken. When reading this I automatically thought of the part in Meet The Fockers where the father, Jack, continues to point out that Grey/Gaylord is a male nurse and doing so in an insulting way. We should not have to clarify by whom the role/job is being completed by. Thinking more about this I am trying to recall other occupations where the use of a qualifier is found. Many come to mind like, female firefighter, female police officer or even female engineer, which is often used to differentiate at Tech. Why does one feel the need to point out the gender differences for the same occupation? To me it makes no sense and only seems to do more harm by adding a qualifier.

I was very intrigued while reading the blog post on Homonormativity primarily because it is not a term I have heard before rather just it’s opposite, Heteronormativity. After reading this article I still have an unclear definition of the term but this could be for the lack of knowledge I have on other members of the LGBT community apart from gay and lesbian. I think this is something most people can agree with. I agree that we often are our own worst enemy. The LGBT community is also to blame for the constraints and standards that are being upheld just as it is women who are found guilty of degrading other women. I wonder if anyone has a clear definition of either of these terms that would like to share?

 

Resources:

Risman, Barbara. Gender as a Social Structure: Theory Wrestling with Activism. Sage Publications, 2004.

“An Introduction to Homonormativity.” Homo Normo. 2013. Web.

West, Candace; Zimmerman, Don. Doing Gender. Sage Publications, 1987.

