While I thought it was amusing to see these group of guys try to experience the feeling and process of menstruation, I also partially agreed with Blogger Bobby on his reaction to the video.  He noted that the portrayal of menstruation through poorly conceived imitations was dismissive of the real thing (Jezebel.com).  Many women suffer from symptoms due to menstruation such as mood changes, irritability, bloating, etc. which is coined as the premenstrual syndrome (PMS).  While I was reading blogs of experiences from women who suffer from PMS, I stumbled upon a particular article from the New York Times.  I appreciated her raw and genuine account on how PMS affected her.  She actually goes even further to reveal that PMS can become even worse and intensified in it’s symptoms.  This diagnosis is called premenstrual dysphoric disorder (PMDD).  I think her account would help facilitate and open conversation up for women who are going through PMDD.  The comments on this blog post were very enlightening as well.

 

Resources:

Finger, Bobby. “Ladies and Gentlemen, We’ve Reached Peak Wokeness.” Jezebel. N.p., 2016. Web. 08 June 2016.

 

