This week the subject of our readings was about sexuality. In today’s society, sexuality is becoming a “hot topic” to talk about, mainly dealing with equality for the LGBT community. Because of everything happening in America and prevalent it is to us today, I decided to focus my post about the readings centered around LGBT articles.

Many people tend to say that sexuality is not a choice, that it is something they are born with. However Hari Ziyad writes “Choosing Queer: I Was Not Born This Way, and That’s OK” to talk about how not everyone is the same. Ziyad writes, “Queer theory has always positioned queerness in opposition to rigidity and gender essentialism… It can mean homosexuality and not. It can be gayness one day and something else the next. It is purposefully open to fluidity. It is amenable to choice, and that’s why I find it so fitting.” I find it interesting that Ziyad talks about how he chooses to be queer as a way of explaining how he feels. While he may not identify a certain way, he chose to label himself as queer so that he did not have to feel trapped or limited when expressing himself. This way of self expression is not very commen in the LGBT community, but it is something that helps people be comfortable with who they are.

One thing our society does too much of is stereotyping. And what is worese is how we treat people who do not fall into those stereotypes. In “Big, Burly, and Beautiful,” a piece from Not Trans Enough magazine, Rhiannon Robear talks about how she is not a typcial trans woman. She writes, “I’m a big girl. I spent years of my life…trying to work at accepting and loving my body & my self in a culture that taught me that being fat & being femme made me undesirable, unattractive and inferior.” Becasue Robear did not fit in as a typical skinny and perfect women or look like your favorite drag queen she had to go through dealing with people not understanding that she was finially comfortable with who she was. She ends her piece talking about how people should just let her live her own life, and this is something America should be doing. We do not need to tell people in the LGBT community how to live, but instead we should be listening to them and doing our best to help them have a safe and comfortable life.

Finally, not everyone how suports the LGBT community has to be gay. In “I Am Not an LGBT Ally, I’m an Accomplice,” Sommer Foster talks about how being an ally to this community is more than just being a decent person. Foster writes, ” If I was serious about standing in solidarity, I needed to listen to the experiences of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people. I needed to listen to people who experience homophobia, biphobia, or transphobia, and I also needed to hear how the intersection of racism, sexism, and poverty contributes to further marginalization, especially for those for whom waking up everyday, and living an authentic life, is a revolutionary act.” What the author is trying to say is that we need to be more than allies to the LGBT community. Instead of doing simple things like getting a free HRC sticker, we need to be doing more. Being an accomplice means listening, learning, and determining what course of action needs to be taken next to help improve the lives of those in the LGBT community.

Citation:
Foster, S. (2015). I Am Not an LGBT Ally, I’m an Accomplice. LGBTQ Nation. Retireved from http://www.lgbtqnation.com/2015/12/i-am-not-an-lgbt-ally-im-an-accomplice/

Robear, R. Big, Burly, and Beautiful. Not Trans Enough.

Ziyad, H. (2015). Choosing Queer: I Was Not Born This Way, and That’s OK. Race Baiter. Retreieved from http://racebaitr.com/2015/09/30/choosing-queer-i-was-not-born-this-way-and-thats-ok/

