My Uncle’s Interviewed

  1. “How did you let someone know that you were interested in them?”

To show interest in someone you would make a lot of flirtatious eye contact or even get a mutual friend to introduce the two you together if at all possible

  1. ”What kind of dating activities you participate in?”

We would go to a movie and/or dinner or maybe even go listen to some jazz at a lounge.

  1. “What type of relationship do you have or did have?”

Most people were a lot more monogamous in his day, some were just friends but if you wanted to get the girl that you wanted you had to earn her and show her you were a respectful guy and that you were serious”

  1. “How is sexuality displayed when you were dating?”

Unlike today girls didn’t wear the super short skirts and shorts, at least as publicly as today. Most people were straight. People were two shy or scared to be anything else because of what others might say or think

  1. How did people treat others who didn’t follow the “rules”?”

Some people were mean enough to the point were they would call people names if they were queer or gay or openly displayed their sexuality . Occasionally you might here of some physicality toward another but it was rarely that serious to most of us but there are some people like that.

My Younger Cousin Interviewed

  1. “How did you let someone know that you were interested in them?”

Well I might like all of her pictures on Instagram or DM her and start a conversation.

  1. ”What kind of dating activities you participate in?”

We might watch Netflix and chill or go to a party together or even just facetime each other”.

  1. “What type of relationship do you have or did have?”

He has friends that he texts with and some that he facetime with. He mentioned that when you and some people are in a middle stage between dating and just friends it’s called “talking” not “dating” and that as long as you are single you can “talk to as many people as you want.

 

  1. “How is sexuality displayed when you were dating?”

I would say girls and guys are open about sexuality. Everybody wants to like the strippers and Instagram models or one of the Kardashians. These days no one cares if you are gay or bi-sexual, to each’s on I guess.

 

  1. How did people treat others who didn’t follow the “rules”?”

Like I said no one really cares anymore it almost seems like it’s a trend to change your preference. Most times if someone tries to treat you different for a reason like that then they seem like the one who isn’t following the rules.

I interviewed both my uncle and my younger cousin for this assignment because they are both from completely different generations and I thought I would get some interesting feedback. When I asked my uncle when he was dating “How did you let someone know that you were interested in them?” My uncle replied that in his day “to show interest in someone you would make a lot of flirtatious eye contact or even get a mutual friend to introduce the two you together if at all possible”. When asking my younger cousin the same question he replied “Well I might like all of her pictures on Instagram or DM her and start a conversation. I also asked them both what kind of dating activities they participate in. My uncle said “We would go to a movie and/or dinner or maybe even go listen to some jazz at a lounge”. My cousin said “We might watch Netflix and chill or go to a party together or even just facetime each other”. When asked what type of relationship do you have or did have? My uncle said “most people were a lot more monogamous in his day, some were just friends but if you wanted to get the girl that you wanted you had to earn her and show her you were a respectful guy and that you were serious”. My cousin said that “he has friends that he texts with and some that he facetime with. He mentioned that when you and some people are in a middle stage between dating and just friends it’s called “talking” not “dating” and that as long as you are single you can “talk to as many people as you want.”

What I noticed when interviewing both my uncle and my younger cousin the main difference that I see between them both is that technology has changed the dating scene overtime. Personally I feel like because of technology a lot of things that used to be done publicly like going to dinner, the movies together or going on any kind of date to talk and get to know each other, have changed the rules and norms for each individual relationship. Because you can order food to your house in recent times instead of going out to eat or instead if a movie theater you could watch Netflix in the comforts of your home. In the past you may meet or go on a date just to talk and converse but not as much today as you can call, text, or facetime anyone and talk and see them without leaving bed. Because of these changes it allows for more individualization when it comes to  a personal relationship and you do not have to follow tradition norms when you have this kind of freedom.

