For me personally, the wage gap between men and women is a hard concept to grasp for a few reasons. First, as many of the readings this week touched upon, there is more than just gender that goes into the wage gap. For example, race, location, type of job, education and age are all factors as well. The inclusion of all of these factors makes the wage gap difficult to research and draw conclusions upon.

Furthermore, besides the fact that the wage gap is a complicated topic with several different factors, it simply just doesn’t make sense to me. If two people are putting in the same hours and effort into a job, aren’t these two people working equally? If these two people are working equally, why wouldn’t they be paid the same amount for their efforts? Unfortunately, gender is the deciding factor in too many instances. The fact that a woman working the same job as a man can receive a lower salary than that man just because she is a female is ultimately why the wage gap is so hard for me to grasp.

In an effort to simplify the wage gap and further understand all of the factors that affect unequal pay, I searched pay gap on YouTube. I didn’t come across what I initially thought I would, but I found something I wanted to share with the class. The video I attached to this post made me feel like I wasn’t the only one who thinks the wage gap simply doesn’t make sense. In this short video, a clever woman takes a stand against making 78% of what her male coworker makes. Although it is comical, this video drives home a simple, logical idea. The amount of work, not gender, should represent the amount of pay received. 78% of work completed deserves 78% of pay, but 100% of work completed deserves 100% of pay, no matter who completed the work.

BuzzFeedYellow. “One Woman Discovers The Wage Gap.” YouTube. YouTube, 2015. Web. 20 June 2016.

 

 

