For my assignment this week I chose to google image search the terms “teacher” and “principal.” I’m not sure why I wasn’t expecting to see what I ended up seeing.

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 8.47.19 AMScreen Shot 2016-06-26 at 8.47.36 AM

As you can see from the images above, when I searched the term, “teacher,” mostly images of women came up. When I searched the term, “principal,” in opposition, all of the images that were listed as results were of male figures, if any figure was shown. I was not expecting this, as I previously stated. I was expecting to see images of women in both but more men on the “principal” side. I feel that society typically associates men with jobs that are more “in charge.” The principal is all of the teachers’ boss so it does make sense to me that society associates that with males, based on the patterns in society in regards to gender roles we have previously studied in this course, and even more specifically, this week.

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 8.54.00 AM.png

I wanted to include the chart seen above from the seventeenth page of our AAUW reading this week in this assignment. I included this chart because school teachers are included in the chart showing the difference in pay between males and females in specific jobs. The role of a “teacher,” may be categorized as a traditionally female occupation. I would say that, in my own personal experience, most of my teachers have been female. I have only had a few male teachers prior to entering college. In regards to the chart, the wage gap is not as great as it is in other jobs. The chart shows that females working as “secondary school teachers” make 89% of what males working as “secondary school teachers” make. They still do not receive equal pay in comparison with their male counterparts but female “financial managers” only make 67% of what their male counterparts make. So things could be worse, I guess.

Source:

AAUW. The Simple Truth About The Gender Pay Gap. Washington, D.C.: AAUW, 2016. Print.

