I had never entertained the idea of the benefits of a single-gender educated school.  But after listening to this Ted Talk given by Elizabeth Wolfson, I might be convinced to promote the beneficial aspects of a single-sex school.  Opportunities for gender-separate education is not a new idea.  The National Association for Single-Sex Public Education reports that, as of April 2006, at least 223 public schools in the United States were offering gender-separate educational opportunities.8.  Most of these cases involved single-sex classrooms within coeducational schools but 44 were wholly single-sex schools (Buchmann, DiPrete, & McDaniel, 2008).  Wolfson however has given us a refreshing outlook on the benefits on educating males and females separately.  As Head of Denver’s first all-girls public school, she is empowering female students to challenge the norms of what women can and cannot do.  At Girls Athletic Leadership School (GALS), students are encouraged to question the gender inequality at play in their world.  We might all learn a thing or two from GALS’ mantra:  “I know who I am, I know that I matter, and I know what matters to me.”

 

References:

Buchmann, Claudia, Thomas A. Diprete, and Anne Mcdaniel. “Gender Inequalities in Education.” Annu. Rev. Sociol. Annual Review of Sociology 34.1 (2008): 319-37.
