I enjoyed reading The Thong Vs. The Veil. It presented valid points including one involving afghan women and black women. In the article I found an excellent question that it proposed ‘who gains more respect for their intellect and spirit – the Afghan woman who is so totally veiled that you can’t even see her eyes or the Black woman in the R&B and Hip-Hop video who dances while wearing a bikini and thong? Is less more?’ While personally I am at a crossroads because while I do not agree with the way black women are portrayed in hip hop culture barely having any clothes on at times I also think the way afghan women are suppressed in a male dominated culture where they are expected to wear a demanding amount of clothes is any better or worse than that of black women. If you have a different opinion please feel free to comment.

