IMG_1557.jpgIMG_1558.jpgIMG_1559.jpgIMG_1560.jpgIMG_1561.jpgReflection:

In my children book I tried to make the mother character have the same feel as Sommer Foster, the author of “I Am Not An Ally”. I tried to make her seem like a person who “rightly believed that LGBTQ people deserve the same rights as everyone else” without saying it out right since a child mightn’t understand the significance of that. I tried to allude to the difficulty of the trans experience when I made mention of the fact that Thomas’s body and mind didn’t match; again it is of course difficult to explain to a young child the things that trans people must overcome within themselves and in society in a way that doesn’t overwhelm them and is understandable. I drew the idea of the trans struggle from “My Body is Resistance” by Travis Alabanza in “Not Trans Enough”. I chose to make the trans character a Trans girl rather than a Trans boy because of the point made in the “Trans Woman Manifesto” that “no sexual minority is more maligned or misunderstood than trans women”. With out obviously stating to a child that trans women, particularly African American trans women, are some of the most discriminated against people in our society, I tried to make them the focus of the story. I chose to make the point that when Thomas was born his body and his mind were incongruent, it wasn’t something Thomas chose when he got older, he was born feeling like he should have been Sarah. This point came from the “Choosing Queer” link, in this link the author is talking about the fact that being queer “felt natural and innate” like wearing a dress did for my character Sarah. One of the biggest thinks that I tried to accomplish with this childrens book was to establish a base for rejecting trans-phobia and trans prejudice in young children, the earlier that children can be exposed to trans people or the idea of trans, the easier it will be to build up a barrier to the prejudice that they may experience later in life. This issue of trans-phobia was mentioned in “Sappho by Surgery” by Janice G. Raymond. The other thing I tried to accomplish in this book was to expose children to the idea that there is not just one way of making a family or being in love or being a person. In our world today we need people to be more accepting and loving and to be less violent and angry and rejecting. As addressed in Ki Namaste’s Article “Genderbashing: sexuality, gender, and the regulation of public space”, we need to educated the youth in our world to be more understanding of people’s differences.

