In this blog post, I decided to put my thoughts into a PowerPoint (given below in 2 separate formats).

In these slides, I discuss feminism as portrayed by a specific aspect of the media, League of Legends (a video game). I define feminism, League of Legends, media’s view of feminism, society’s view of masculinity in video games, and how the champions/players of League of Legends portray all of these aspects. I use quotes from my references of how the champions in this particular video game portray women in a negative light (over-sexualized, in more submissive roles, etc.). I also give an overview of my experiences from playing League of Legends as a female.

To be more detailed, I noticed that the majority of the female champions were designed to  be played in the role of support for the other players in the game. Another point to consider is that the female champions are over-sexualized, with abundant breasts, small waists, and in what is thought to be as overly attractive poses in their splash art.  Also, as a female player, I noticed that women that do happen to play are thought to fill in that role in the team, even if they aren’t playing support champions. It seems to me that certain video games that are centered around the masculinity through “fighting,” make the women players and characters out to resemble sexualized objects. As disheartening as it is, I believe that more players, at least the ones I have encountered through my Reddit and other forums, are realizing that there is a disparity among male and female champions in the game. Another thing I learned from researching so many forums was that this past year the first ever male-to-female transgender professional League of Legends player (who mainly played in the support role).

I hope my slides/presentation are enough to help others, especially those who play video games, to question these facts, as well as why they haven’t been changed yet.

Presentation:

Video Gaming Masculinity in League of Legends

https://docs.google.com/a/vt.edu/presentation/d/1a2TRhY69HYmHHhPdDyAMkgoz-y0vgOU05RDFCL_TW3o/edit?usp=sharing

 

